top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBailie Saiz

Joplin, Missouri: Local Favorites

Updated: Feb 7, 2022

When you live in a tiny rural town of 3,000 people, Joplin is a mega-city.

I realize Joplin, or even the Midwest as a whole, isn’t much of a destination… But believe it or not, some of us grew up in this part of America, moved away, and decided to come back home. Sure, the way of life is much different than pretty much anywhere else I have ever been, but that’s the beauty of it.


You are forced to slow down and appreciate the little things.


In the current climate with the doors of the world opening slowly & cautiously, I figured why not just highlight the things we can visit and celebrate right here at home. If you’re like me and you live in one of the tiny, tiny communities surrounding the Joplin, Missouri area you know that this is where you have to go if you want to visit a shopping mall, eat Chipotle, or drop of your dry-cleaning.


Growing up right on the Kansas/Missouri/Oklahoma state line, everyone was always confused about our location. Did ya know, you can live in the Southeast corner of Kansas and be in Oklahoma or Missouri within 10 minutes. None being sought-after locations, but it’s what we have here. People hear Kansas and it’s like the only thing that comes to mind is Wizard of Oz in the literal middle of nowhere that takes 3 hours to get to.

This isn’t entirely wrong. The “middle of nowhere” thing is accurate; tons of little farm towns all around, but no metropolises. This also gives me the passion to travel and experience things I’d never get to see here.

So now that you’ve heard a little bit of backstory about why I will be highlighting irrelevant Midwestern cities and all of the beauty we have to offer here, let’s talk about my birthday.

My birthday was a couple of weeks ago and conveniently fell on a Friday. Luckily for me, we are given the day off on our birthday at the company I work for. Also, luckily for me, one of my best girls took the entire day off work so we could gallivant around Joplin and treat ourselves all day long.


I could write and write about my favorite spots to hit in Joplin because honestly, there is a lot. Sure, that is the small-town girl in me talking, but, guys, we have options here! We really do. So, what exactly did our day entail? All. The. Pampering!


To Do:


If you know me at all, you know I’m frequent flyer at Joplin Greenhouse & the Coffee Shop. There is only so much you can say about a greenhouse & nursery, but Joplin Greenhouse never disappoints me with their selection of flora to gaze at. Year round they carry an amazing selection of indoor plants, and they have a knowledgeable staff always running around, working hard. The Coffee Shop inside is also a gem.


I’m a black coffee kind of girl, but on my birthday, I got some sort of chocolate coconut espresso that sent me mentally to South Beach for a brief second. Along with creative drink specials regularly you’ll find gourmet snacks like macarons and lemon pound cake, also changing regularly. Get to Joplin Greenhouse and get a coffee and plant immediately. Blame it on me when your spouse has had enough, I do not even care!


Right off the interstate on 32nd street, Joplin Greenhouse is located at 2820 E. 32nd Street Joplin, Missouri next to the Food for Less parking lot. I think it’s special to note the greenhouse collaborates with local and/or small businesses in all of their efforts from plants to food.












Eats

 

Magic Noodle


The Magic Noodle is a Thai kitchen that you’ve undoubtedly passed a million times in Joplin as it sets at nearly at the busiest intersection in town: 7th and Rangeline. It’d been probably 10 years until recently that I went back to the Noodle, and I don’t know why I ever stopped! Jamie and I ordered a feast and we devoured it: steamed dumplings, crab Rangoon, basil fried rice, pad thai. I had red wine and she had a white Zin. I’m telling you, you’re missing out if you haven’t stopped at Magic Noodle! Make this your next Asian-inspired date night meal in Joplin, you can also order on GrubHub.


Magic Noodle is located at 804 S. Rangeline Road, Joplin Missouri right behind the giant Forest Park church.

After a long and amazing girls day, Jacob & I headed back to Joplin to grab dinner. Last, but absolutely not least, is Tropicana Bar & Grill. A burger joint serving Joplin since 2010; Trop is serving up insane mashups like Philly Cheesesteak egg rolls, Pimento Cheese Burgers, Gooey Gouda burgers, and so much more. Oh and boozy milkshakes. I got the Key Lime Pie for my birthday. Just looking at this menu sends your taste buds into a tailspin, and your cholesterol on an even deeper dive. Worth it, ya’ll. Worth. It. There is upstairs and outside balcony seating, but be sure to grab a spot early because Tropicana gets packed. Don’t even go if you’re not going to start your with meal with the Philly Egg Rolls, they are truly life changing. (Just kidding, still go, just know you’re missing out on gastronomic excellence). The same chick is always slinging drinks in the bar and she told us that sometimes the chef will make different egg rolls like Fajita! Uhh yum. Do yourself a favor and Tropicana the next you’re craving a badass burger.


Tropicana is located at 2402 S. Main Street, Joplin, Missouri. .


So, this was our girls day birthday itinerary in Joplin, which hit so many of our favorites. Check back soon for more Joplin-area favorites!



90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page