top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBailie Saiz

NYC: Part 1

Updated: Dec 13, 2020

So I’m going to have to break this down for you guys in at least one, maybe two parts. There’s probably just no way for me to cram all the food, alcohol, and sights into one post. Plus, I hope some of you will use this as a guide when planning your next trip to the Big Apple, New York New York, the fashion and food capital of America. Yeah I said it.

img_4305

I am a foodie through and through and will never turn down food my heart loves. My eyes are often bigger than my stomach, but thankfully my husband does what all husbands do, finish my meal when I’m full. NYC is without a doubt the best place I’ve ever been for amazing eats. I found something I loved on basically every menu. One corner place we stopped at for tacos, La Esquina, (not on the itinerary) had some AMAZING chicken and pork street tacos.

img_4479

We stayed at Nomo Soho so I based our entire trip on coming and going from lower Manhattan. I will admit, we were a freakin’ hot mess on the subway. Sometimes we nailed it, other times (once) we went in the wrong direction all the way to Brooklyn…. My fault.

img_4310

Our first day was jam packed (along with all the other days). We walked straight to Rubirosa for lunch (a pizza must) and then headed towards Washington Square Park to see the famous Arch and water fountain from Friends. Fun fact: their apartment is actually here is the Greenwich Village area, not Central Park like most people think.

img_4312
img_4313

With our next destination being Madison Square Park to meet up with one of my college roommates, we just took in the sights.

img_4317

Jeans & Top both Vici

We grabbed drinks at a really cool rooftop Happy Hour near Madison Square Park then took to the subway to the Upper West Side to The Mermaid Inn for oysters and wine! Jacob does NOT eat oysters, but he always takes one for the team and lets me find some. He lets me eat Oysters, I let him go to a baseball game.

img_4321

Yankee’s Stadium was actually really, really cool. And we had a badass helmet of nachos that definitely hit the spot. Helmet nachos at a baseball game is always on our to-do list, no matter what city. Yankees stadium is in the Bronx, North of Manhattan, so basically as far away from Soho as possible.

img_4325

After a long day of travel, walking a several miles, and eating my body weight in food, we set off for the long subway ride back to SoHo and called it a night. Too tired to function and we had another big day of sights to see!

img_4337

Friday morning, I panickingly woke up thinking we missed our flight. Thank God we were already in NYC, lol. Even though it was a little out of the way, I really wanted to eat at Clinton Street Bakery and it was well worth the walk.

7787004368_img_2694

I had an omelet and Jacob had chicken and waffles. They don’t take reservations, and we got there at 9 and only had to wait for about 10 minutes.

img_4334

After breakfast, we took the subway down to Wall Street to see everything there is to see in very lower Manhattan. From the Stock Exchange building, Trinity Church, Charging Bull, the Statue of Liberty, 9/11 Memorial & Museum (get tickets in advance!!)… This is all walk-able once you get to Wall Street. Obviously you can only see the Statue from land..

img_4371

Anniversary present! He took me David Yurman and told me to pick….. We don’t usually do big gifts for each other so this was not expected!

img_4366

After a tearful and much recommended experience at the 9/11 Memorial, we made our way to the West Village for a couple of drink and shopping stops before our late lunch reservation at Emily. 10/10 would recommend. The burger (only one on the menu) is to die for, as well as the Colony pizza. All the pizzas sounded incredible!

img_4353

Then back to SoHo to change and make our way Uptown for 5 year anniversary dinner and drinks. First we had rooftop reservations at Monarch Rooftop, but this is that time I took us the wrong way on the subway………

7717911392_img_2698

We are lucky we made it to our dinner reservation at Keens on time. Whoops. We had great oysters & champagne & steak, but we were so close to Mastros on Times Square, we had to go get ourselves a butter cake. Jacob also had himself another steak???

img_4375
img_4384

Jeans & Duster both Vici

img_4394

Once again, I guess we are just too old to go “out” after dinner because we made our way back to Nomo Soho again after sinking in the sight that was Times Square.

img_4434

I wish you could taste all the food through my pictures, but I’m glad I spared you the smell of the streets. My only real complaint of the city was the smell of hot garbage on every street, but what can you expect when literally thousands of people live in a one block radius.

img_4356

This wraps up for first 2 days in NYC, check part tomorrow for part 2!

img_4578
24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page