top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBailie Saiz

10 Labor Day Weekend Recipes

Happy Wednesday, my friends! And a happy early Labor Day Weekend. Thank you for being a hardworking, contributing member of society.

We have a long holiday weekend on the horizon and I’m here to help you entertain. If you’re anything like my family, chances are there’s going to be tons of people in and out of the kitchen all weekend scavenging for any kind of food they can get their hands on.


Dips, veggies tray’s, cookies on cookies…. You need them all for the holiday weekend so I’m sharing a list of 10 different recipes we are making this weekend. Let me help you simplify the crazy. Make any of these ahead of time and you’re all set for a weekend of ease and eats.


You’re not going to find any main dishes on this list because we are planning on doing our tried and true smashies (watch the reel) and BBQ smoked chicken, but it’s not to late to prep one of theses two smoke shows: smoked pork butt // smoked salmon. (Or… do both).


So, here’s 8 goodies you need this weekend:


This salad came out of one of my long-standing favorite cookbooks and includes a lick-your-bowl worthy dressing. You can use whatever ingredients you see fit in this salad and customize it completely to your preference. Swap out the mozzarella for white cheddar, trade the salami for pepperoni. I do not care what you do. You won’t regret making this chunky chop salad.

Get the recipe here.


So, technically this can be whatever you want it to be. Need a dip for breads, here you go. Need a spread for toast? Here you go. Also, make this cherry tomato confit cooked down with garlic cloves and throw it in the chop salad above and wait for your test buds to sing a song of praise. This garlic confit would be pure heaven slathered on a baguette and covered in smoked salmon. My god writing this post wasn’t my smartest idea. Starving.

Get the recipe for tomato confit here.


If you know me at all (or follow me on the socials) you know I share the shit out of this recipe. And for good reason. It’s so good, it’s super easy, and is the perfect make-ahead recipe. It’s the most popular post on my blog for a reason. It would also be bomb.com in a flour tortilla then topped with freshly grilled fish or salmon. You’ll be making this one again and again.

Get the recipe here.




This easy dip has withstood the test of time. I’ve been making this since I was a fetus, but only recently did we start smoking it in the Traeger. Make it in the oven if you don’t have a smoker, no big deal. It only has like 5 ingredients, you layer them all in a pan – and viola. When I dip, you dip, we dip.

Get the recipe for this buffalo dip here.


Okay – don’t freak out. Don’t leave me! Tabbouleh is not as exotic as it sounds. It’s nothing but a grain salad mixed with lots of garlic and parsley. I’ve been on a Mediterranean food kick recently and this “parsley salad” has been heavy in the rotation. I’ve been making it with couscous (which is impossibly easy to make), you toss all the ingredients together and you have an amazing side dish. Honestly, we just put it in a bowl and eat it by itself because it’s so friggin’ good. Add in some finely chopped tomatoes for a little color if you want.

Get the easy tabbouleh recipe here.



In the same breath as the Mediterranean recipe above, this sauce/dip is a current staple in my life. Tzatziki is a Greek “dressing” (dip, sauce, spread) that is the Mediterranean version of Ranch dressing. Only healthier because it’s made with Greek Yogurt and there is pretty much nothing else in it that includes any fat or carbs. Get out the celery sticks because you won’t be able to stop dipping. If you are feeling funky, cut pre-made pita breads into triangles, drizzle with olive oil and bake until golden brown. I crave them.

Get the recipe here.


Okay, let’s move on to what really matters. Dessert. And more importantly, cookies. Gooey. Chocolate chip cookies. I’m a cookie aficionado so I really know my stuff when it comes to what’s what in the cookie world. And these cookies are the stuff. I will be making at least a double batch of these because everyone devours them in two seconds. Soft, chewy, and absolutely sinful.

Make them immediately, get the recipe here.



I’ve been craving monster cookies bad. What is better than a regular monster cookie? A monster cookie baked into a brownie. This recipe is insanity (and an insulin spike). Next to chocolate chip cookies, brownies are probably my second favorite dessert. Pretty sure I’ll be making a double batch of these too because I’m not going to be able to stop eating the first round.

Get the recipe here.


Tag me in all of your LDW eats! Love you guys.

148 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page