top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBailie Saiz

Pork Rigatoni: Leftover Smoked Pork Pasta

The only art I’ve ever excelled at is using noodles to create something beautiful.

Beautifully delicious. I’m not even going to beat around the bush with this one… So many people messaged me after I posted this on my Instagram stories, that I spent all day at work today excited to get home and write this post.


I accidentally threw this pasta dish together last night while looking into my pantry cabinet wondering, “how do I incorporate that leftover, thawed smoked pork into one of these boxes of noodles”?


When we smoke pork, there is always a TON leftover. I’m glad to add a pork pasta to my arsenal of leftover pastabilities. Due to using leftover pork, all I had to do was heat it up on the stove and cook my noods. Be sure to check that recipe out if you haven’t yet! [Smoked Pork Butt]

All I did was heat olive oil over medium-high heat, then added the cubed pork to re-heat. Once it was sizzling hot and starting to stick, I deglazed the pan with 1-2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar.


I would start boiling your water at this point. Salt your pasta water.


Reduce your pan to a medium-low and pour in a can of tomatoes. I used Hunt’s Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes (and pureed them first because my family are babies).


Here, I also added a ½ teaspoon of onion powder, but that’s optional. Hit it with a pinch of salt, though.


Once the tomatoes begin to bubble, reduce your heat to low. You don’t want this to turn into a thick paste, so watch your heat once the tomatoes are added. You may even need a teaspoon of water if it’s too thick. Stir as needed.


Once your pasta is cooked, transfer directly into the pork sauce. Do not drain your pasta! You need some of that pasta water to loosen up the thick, porky red sauce. Stir and voila! There isn’t even cheese on this plate, though I suppose there wouldn’t be a penalty in adding some.


(Leftover) Pork Rigatoni

Ingredients:

2-3 cups leftover cubed Smoked Pork (you could use leftover chicken!)

1 can Hunt’s Diced Fire Roasted Tomatoes

2 T. olive oil

1-2 T. balsamic vinegar

Directions:

1. Re-heat leftover cubed pork in olive oil over medium-high heat.

2. Deglaze with 1-2 T. balsamic vinegar. Reduce to medium.

3. Add in tomatoes and reduce to low. Add a pinch of salt.

4. Add cooked pasta directly into pork sauce, do not rinse! Add additional pasta water if your sauce is too thick.

You should try these out…..

For Dessert….


74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page